Cycling With Youth in Mind

What's On

About Us

Starters Adventurers

Racing Academy

Successful Club Riders


Contact Us


Local Heroes

Useful Links

Sale Items

British Cycling


Club Mark

Sutton Primary School Championships

Brookfield Primary School's Team 1 brooked no opposition in Monday's Finals of the Sutton Primary School Cycling Championships, winning the overall competition and two of the three events, including the Moore Trophy for Road Safety.

The Championships, now in their fourth year, were the biggest and best so far - even the weather was better! They are run as a team event with three elements: Skills & Road Safety, Cross Country, and this year an Elimination Race (instead of the Time Trial of previous years). Earlier in the term, Go-Ride cycling sessions, run by British Cycling and the Borough's Cycle Training Team, were offered to all schools to help them with team selection, and nineteen schools took advantage of this.

In the end, seventeen schools participated, entering two teams each. Over 100 children from school years 5 & 6 competed in Heats on Friday morning and afternoon, with the best six teams from each session going forward to the Finals on Monday afternoon. Each child competing in the Heats received a goody bag with drinks bottle and bag from British Cycling, a bike computer from Smarter Travel Sutton and a "Come & Try Voucher" for a Club session from promoting Club Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles.

The Mayor of the London Borough of Sutton, Cllr Dr Brendan Hudson and Tom Brake, MP for Carshalton & Wallington and President of Sutton CC/De Ver Cycles, were present to watch the event and share the duties of starting the races.

The various elements of the Championships tested a range of abilities: agility and road safety, stamina, speed and tactics.

Brad Barbury from Barrow Hedges Primary School romped home to win the Cross Country Race, and Alex Lowe from Brookfield Primary School Team 1 was a clear winner of the Skills & Road Safety event, scoring maximum marks in the Road Safety Quiz. The Elimination Race, or Keirin Devil, was new to the programme and proved to be a great success. In a Keirin, riders follow a pacer - usually on a motorbike. but in this case a Go-Ride coach on a mountainbike - who eventually pulls out leaving the riders to finish; and in a Devil (Devil take the hindmost) the last rider(s) over the line on each lap are eliminated until three remain for the final lap. The young riders quickly picked up the tactics needed for the race, particularly winner Jessica Davis of Brookfield Primary School Team 1 and third-placed Mollie Greenaway of Camden Junior School.

Afterwards, in the Pavilion, Club organiser Peter Fordham thanked all the children, teachers, helpers from the schools and the team assisting with the organisation for making it a such a successful event- He pointed out it had benefited from the support of the London Borough of Sutton, Smarter Travel Sutton, Sutton Sports Council, British Cycling and Sutton Grammar School and thanked them all.

He remarked that all the riders had improved even since the Friday heats and hoped that they would use their vouchers to come along to a Saturday morning Club session. The winner of the Cross-Country Race was a Club member; three former Club members had won National Championships and one, Joanna Rowsell, had even gone on to become a World Champion.

After congratulating the winners and presenting the prizes, Tom Brake praised all the competitors and encouraged them to continue cycling as part of a healthy lifestyle, a green mode of transport and an exciting sport at which Team GB is best in the world.

In addition to the Sutton Primary Schools Cycling Championship Trophy, the winning team from Brookfield Primary School received a voucher from Smarter Travel Sutton for 30 children to try track riding at the famous Herne Hill velodrome, used in the 1948 Olympics. The first three teams also received medals and Go-Ride cycling jerseys, and Brookfield also won the special Moore Trophy for Skills & Road Safety.

  • 1st Brookfield Primary School, Team 1
  • 2nd Amy Johnson Primary School, Team 2
  • 3rd Nonsuch Primary School, Team 1

Winner of Moore Trophy for Skills & Road Safety Brookfield Primary School, Team 1

Winners of each element:

  • Skills & Road Safety Alex Lowe, Brookfield Primary School, Team 1
  • Cross-country Race Brad Barbury, Barrow Hedges Primary School, Team 1
  • Elimination Race Jessica Davis, Brookfield Primary School, Team 1

Participating schools: Abbey Primary, All Saints Benhilton CofE Primary, Amy Johnson Primary, Barrow Hedges Primary, Brookfield Primary, Camden Juniors, Carew Manor, Cheam Common Juniors, Devonshire Primary, Dorchester Primary, Foresters Primary, Homefield School, Nonsuch Primary, Stanley Park Juniors, Sutton High Juniors, Tweeddale Primary, and Westbourne Primary.

Pictures from the event to follow.

Click here to read other articles